Download Full Text (2.6 MB)


Hope Historical Society, 2020. 439 pages.

Transcription of ledger in the Rare Book Collection, Lillian Goldman Law Library, Yale Law School. Gift of Lois S. Montbertrand, Yale Law School Class of 1985. Ledger includes information about the change of name from Barrettstown Plantation to Hope in 1804, and later information on the issue of separation from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The final vote, on July 26, 1819, favored separation, though earlier votes had been against it. The town of Hope sent a delegate to the Constitutional Convention in Portland in October 1819. In 1820 the state of Maine was created. Town clerks mentioned in the ledger: Samuel Reeves, 1804; Almond Gushe, 1805; Matthew Beveridge, 1806; Solomon Harwood, 1830; Asa Payson, 1835; Henry Hobbs, 1837, 1841; Abner Dunton Jr., 1839, 1842.

Publication Date



Hope Historical Society


Maine History, Maine Politics and government


For further information or permissions, please contact Michael Widener at the Yale Law Library:

Hope, Maine Town Clerk Records, 1804-1848: A Literal Transcription / Cynthia S. DellaPenna, editor.