Document Type



Eritrea-Yemen Arbitration (Award, Phase II: Maritime Delimitation), 94 American Journal of International Law 721 (2000)


On December 17,1999, theArbitral Tribunal (Tribunal), convoked byEritrea andYemen in the Arbitration Agreement of October 3, 1996, and comprisingJudges Rosalyn Higgins and Stephen Schwebel, appointed byEritrea, Dr. Ahmed E1-Kosheri and the late Keith Highet, appointed by Yemen, and Sir RobertJennings, presiding, delivered the second award in a process that the parties had elected to conduct in two stages. In the first stage, the Tribunal addressed territorial sovereignty and the scope of the dispute. The second and final award, reviewed here, addressed maritime delimitation. Unfortunately, the pleadings have not been published, and the student must rely on the Tribunal's brief summaries of them.

Date of Authorship for this Version


Included in

Law Commons