Document Type


Citation Information

Please cite to the original publication


At Paris, on October 23, 1954, the United States, the United Kingdom, the French Republic (the "Three Powers") and the Federal Republic of Germany, as part of the salvage operations following the collapse of the plan for a European Defense Community, signed a Protocol on the Termination of the Occupation Regime in the Federal Republic of Germany.The first article of that Protocol provides that, upon ratification by the four signatories, the so-called Contractual Agreements with the Federal Republic of Germany, originally signed at Bonn on May 26, 1952, shall enter into foree-with, however, certain amendments contained in five Schedules to the Protoco1. Two days later, Secretary Dulls explained to the President, the other members of the Cabinet, and several millions of anonymous television viewers:

...we approved the various agreements and documents which
had to deal with this subject of restoring German sovereignty. Rather
complicated because of the great many things that have been going on during this past 10-year period which have got to be wound up in an orderly way.

Date of Authorship for this Version


Included in

Law Commons