Document Type


Citation Information

Please cite to the original publication


It is to be observed, in the first place, that the courts will take judicial notice of: 1. The law of nations. 2. The law merchant. 3. The maritime law, so far at least as recognized by the law of nations. 4. The ecclesiastical law, for the purpose of determining how far it is a part of the common law. 5. The courts of a State which has been carved out of another State, take judicial notice of the statutes of the latter State, passed prior to the separation.

Date of Authorship for this Version


Included in

Law Commons